When orders are merged, the following actions take place automatically:
- A new order is created, combining all items from the prior orders into one new order.
- The merged orders are canceled and archived.
- Extra shipping charges are refunded to original form of payment. Read Shipping refunds for merged orders article to learn about how shipping refunded are determined.
- Customer is sent a notification that their orders have been merged.
- Depending on the payment provider and whether a refund was issued, the customer may also receive separate refund notice.